Thursday, July 28, 2011

Review: Ocean Grove “Another Place To Stay” [EP]

Pop rock
Ocean Grove is a pop rock quartet comprised of John Taylor (vocals/guitar), Ryan Liestman (Keys/backing vocals), Greg Garbowsky (bass/backing vocals), and Jack Lawless (drums)…otherwise known as the backing band for the Jonas Brothers. Now I know some of you are going to stop reading right here but don’t! These guys are first-rate pop rockers that have made an EP for all ages, and the balance is more towards the rock end of the spectrum thanks to mixing by Paul Hager (Van Halen, Goo Goo Dolls, American Hi-Fi). Their new EP, following the acclaimed “Little Record” EP, is called “Another Place To Stay” and was released back in June.

With a voice a little like Donnie Vie (Enuff Z’Nuff) and a backing band to match, Ocean Grove sounds like a long lost friend to me. Their style of music is instantly memorable and just makes you feel good for a change. Lead single, “Away”, is the perfect tune to get you ready for a vacation break. The breezy verses gently float through your ears before the huge sing-a-long chorus comes crashing over you like a wave. “Take It Easy” is another sugary treat that showcases how well these guys harmonize – they clearly built a fluid chemistry while on tour and playing together for so long. “The Best” is a biographical tune about getting the big record deal that many musicians will relate to. “Won’t Say Goodbye” is a terrific acoustic-based mid-tempo rocker that steers a little more towards the Tom Petty direction. Finally, there is a hidden track on the EP called “So Cool” that is a rewarding encore. There isn’t a bad or downbeat tune in this batch of five songs. If you are a fan of power pop rock in the vein of American Hi-Fi, Cheap Trick, and Enuff Z’Nuff, you simply can’t miss out on Ocean Grove. Highly recommended!

Ocean GroveOfficial site.

Check out a video from their previous EP: